Strange Beginnings

There are times when you just have to trust a designer. You fall in love with all the pretty projects you see on Ravelry, you pick the yarn and you dive right in. Then there comes a time when what you see on the needles bears no resemblance whatsoever to the finished product you’re hoping to get.

Like this, for instance:

What Is It?

What Is It?

Does that look like a sock to you? It didn’t look much like a sock to me. But I decided that it was best to trust the strange genius which is Cat Bordhi’s mind and soldier on.

I’m so glad that I did, because eventually I got this:

Sidestream Sock

A simply lovely sock that fits perfectly and suits the yarn just as well. Then I did it all again, and the next thing I knew I had a pair!

Sidestream Sock

So let that be a lesson to you. Strange beginnings sometimes lead to perfect socks.

Sidestream Sock

Project Details:

Can I just say that knitting socks from sport-weight yarn is great for quick gratification? Wow, these went quickly!

This entry was posted in Socks. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Strange Beginnings

  1. Rose Red says:

    oooh, I have some STR mediumweight…might have to earmark it for this pattern. She is so very clever, isn’t she!

  2. donna lee says:

    I have owned that book since it came out and have yet to make a single pair of socks (although I have admired them frequently). She is a genius with the design.

  3. Janey says:

    OMG – so beautiful!

  4. Sara says:

    The way her mind works is just fascinating! One of these days I need to pull her book out and make something! The socks are lovely!

  5. Bells says:

    wow! I so didn’t see that piece of perfection coming. Amazingly good looking socks. Good on you for trusting.

  6. Kate says:

    Oh, you have reminded me that I have a Bartholomew’s Tantalising Sock started (I heart the linen stitch cuff!!) and that I dream of a pair of Ocean Toes in the most glorious blue-green-jade sockyarn bought especially for that purpose…
    I wonder where they are? hmm….

  7. Trudy says:

    Never seen a sock start off like that–but end up SO pretty! What is the name of it? I don’t thik I have then book. Yet. She is SO awesome.

Leave a Reply

