Slightly Biased

I have become obsessed. People who know me well will wonder why I feel the need to point this out, but that’s entirely beside the point. My current obsession is with Cat Bordhi and her New Pathways for Sock Knitters book.

I got this book as a birthday gift a couple of years ago. (Thanks Mom!) I read through it cover to cover, boggled at the ‘sockitechtures’, giggled at some of Cat’s asides and observations, blinked at the idea of Master Numbers (why didn’t I think of that?) and then knit nary a thing out of it for quite some time.

And then the Spiraling Master Coriolis (Ravelry link) pattern took up residence in my subconscious, niggling at me every time I thought about casting on a new pair of socks. “Knit me! Knit me next! I’m pretty! I’m intriguing! I’m prettier than that other pattern! Knit meeeeee!” (What? Don’t try to tell me that never happens to you.)

So I knit a wee little gauge swatch, did the math to get my master numbers, and off I went. It was the first design of Cat’s I’d attempted, and there were many times when I just knew she was leading me astray. I wasn’t certain what was growing on my needles, but it sure didn’t look anything like a sock.

And then suddenly it did look like a sock.

Like a pair of socks.

That band you see spiraling up the foot and just barely missing the heel flap, that’s where all the magic is. All the gusset increases happen in relation to that band, and it creates this lovely biasing which must be seen to be believed.

I felt like some kind of sock knitting superhero. What an eye-opener! I’ve been knitting out of this book ever since, and I can’t seem to stop. But hey, with results like this, how could that be a bad thing?

Project Details:

Pattern: Spiraling Master Coriolis by Cat Bordhi

Yarn: Superwash Merino 4-ply dyed by a friend of mine

Needles: US 1.5 (2.5 mm)

This entry was posted in Footwear, Socks. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Slightly Biased

  1. RoseRed says:

    Her patterns really are mind-boggling aren’t they! I’ve only done one pattern out of the book (Bartholomew’s Tantalising Socks, plus a baby sock in the coriolis) – very very cool! Yours look great!

  2. KT says:

    Yep, that’s how it goes with CB. Now I always use the Master Numbers and one of her sockitectures in whatever socks I’m knitting.

  3. donna lee says:

    I’ve had that book for almost 2 years. Every once in a while, I pull it out and look through it and think that I should make something but because it’s out of my sock comfort zone, I put it back.

    However, I love those socks! Maybe this time, I’ll pick up the book and actually knit something out of it.

  4. drkknits says:

    they look terrific. i love the look of her stuff, but im like donnalee, i need to work up the courage to try them! very inspiring.

  5. Bells says:

    Everybody raves about this pattern/technique. I’m going to give it a go. How much scarier could be it than when I didn’t know the first thign about sock knitting??

  6. Mmm, they look great! I have started Batholomew’s Tantalising sock, and I love the linen stitch cuff, but I keep being distracted by other projects (cardigans, I’m looking at you!). I must keep the faith and make these socks!! Oh, and I love the Ocean Toes too, for which I have a lovely jade blue-green multi Jitterbug yarn all ready to go… soon, my pretties, soon!
    PS have you tried the (non-Cat) Arch-Shaped Stocking? they make fabulous socks – I’ve made two pairs, and the biasing hugs your foot like a massage, it’s wonderful!

  7. Chandler says:

    You *are* a sock-knitting superhero! As I am now beginning to think that I will never knit one (and am finding that I’m okay with that), I bow to your prowess.

  8. caffeinegirl says:

    Those are indeed tantalizing! I have the book, too, but have been intimidated by it. You’re making me think that I’ve got to dive in!

  9. Spring says:

    Oh, WOW. I’ve been so curious about sock-knitting, but right now, I want to finish the blanket I’m crocheting before picking something new up…and those gorgeous socks might be what tempt me back over to knitting.

    Just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

