Oriel Lace Socks

Remember this yarn?

Of course you do, how could you forget it? It’s a hank of Hand Dyed Herb Green, purchased from the fabulous Blackthorne Fibers. Fingering weight superwash merino, just to die (dye?) for.

I finally felt like my sock-knitting skills were worthy of such wonderful stuff, so I’ve been working on a pair of toe-up socks from Sensational Knitted Socks, in the Oriel Lace pattern. They’re a challenging knit, but I just keep putting in lifelines and persevering. I’m working with size 0 Addi Bamboo needles and to tell the truth they’re flying right along.

Here are the toes being modeled, complete with the Teva Tan:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

If you look closely, you can see that the heel flaps are both done. I took this picture just before I turned the heels.

And here’s a detail shot of the lace pattern:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

What can I say about this yarn? It’s soft and sproingy, it just glides on and off of the needles. I love it to death, and I can’t wait to finish these so I can wear them.

Tonight I’ll pick up stitches and start the gussets… wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oriel Lace Socks

  1. essjay says:

    They are looking absolutley fabulous! The colors are just lushious!

Leave a Reply

