Round Head, Square Hat

Deadline knitting makes me crazy. I completely suck at it. I moan and flutter and procrastinate. As Douglas Adams once said:

I love deadlines. I especially like the whooshing sound they make as they go by.

I stand in awe of people who give tons of knitted Christmas gifts, and every year I laugh with the Yarn Harlot as she relates her personal Christmas marathons.

I will, however, make an exception for birthdays. Personally, I like birthdays better than Christmas anyway. So much less pressure, and all the focus is on one person.

My stepfather’s birthday was at the end of September. I gave him a gift certificate for a hand-knit hat, because the day had sort of snuck up on me. I know, I know, it’s the same day every year… did I mention that I suck at deadline knitting?

I made him a Turn A Square hat with two colors of Noro Silk Garden that my mother picked out. This is really a quick and easy knit, and the Silk Garden knits up into the most amazingly soft fabric.

I frogged my first start, because the join was just too ugly to ignore and I decided that one inch of ribbing just wasn’t enough. I nearly frogged it again when I realized how big it was turning out, but my mother assured me that it actually fit the intended head.

So I kept knitting, ignoring the little voice in my head.

Little Voice: “It’s big.”
Me: “I know… shut up, wouldja? This hat is late! Mom says it fits!”

TryOn

Little Voice: “Look at that, it’s ginormous!”
Me: “La la la laaaaa… can’t hear you!”

I made it far longer than the pattern called for, going nearly seven inches before I started the decreases. Joe wanted a hat that would keep his ears covered, and I figured that a hat that nearly came past my nose would probably do the trick for him.

Huge

I cut it pretty close with the main color.

Leftovers

But oh, it was so pretty once I got it off the needles. Gave it a good long bath in some Soak, then a few whirls in the salad spinner. Then I stuffed it full of kitchen towels to dry.

BlockSide02

BlockTop

I finally gifted the hat on Saturday, nearly three months to the day after Joe’s birthday.

Side

When he first tried it on I said, “Oh no, it’s too big!” As if I’d been ignoring the little voice in my head or something.

He says it’s just right. It’s bigger and slouchier than I think Jared intended but it will certainly keep his ears covered.

And just look at that smile!

BigSmile

So, while it may be true that I completely suck at deadline knitting, at least I can say that it was worth the wait.

Happy [belated] Birthday Joe!

Project Details:
Pattern: Turn A Square by Jared Flood
Yarn: Noro Silk Garden, colorways 8 (main color, 122 yards) and 267 (contrasting color, 73 yards)
Needles: US 4 (3.5 mm) and US 6 (4.0 mm)
Embarrassing Time It Took To Finish: October-December 2008

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Round Head, Square Hat

  1. Karen says:

    His grin tells the real story — you can tell he loves it, and it looks great on him! I know what you mean about deadline knitting (witness the lace scarf I was supposed to make my sister, um, a month ago), but you made it, and that’s what counts.

  2. Bells says:

    Better late than never right? It looks so totally worth the wait. One day I’ll use the noro in my stash for something like that!

  3. Jen says:

    How cute is your stepdad??It looks fantastic! Who knew that Noro has a yarn that’s soft…? Hmm.

  4. PrincessPea says:

    The hat looks great on him! Perhaps just the teeniest bit large on you though? It’s a lovely pattern – I keep seeing it at the moment.

  5. TinkingBell says:

    Cool hat – and that damn head voice – I need ear muffs for that one!

  6. Love the hat! And long hats are better than hats that are too short (you can always roll the brim up a bit).

  7. he loves it and it’s beautiful. see? it sometimes pays to ignore the little voice…remember; it’s the same one that tells you that you shouldn’t buy more yarn… right? 🙂

  8. TinkerTots says:

    I would wear it tighter.. but you can tell he’s thrilled with it! It’s a beautiful hat.

Leave a Reply

