They Followed Me Home

Time for Show and Tell!

The first thing I found at Black Sheep on Friday was a copy of Heirloom Lace by Sharon Miller. It’s one of those books people mention all the time, full of charts and techniques. It’s a good reference book to go into my library.

Heirloom

That same day I found a skein of Lightweight Mill Ends from Blue Moon Fiber Arts. It’s mostly blues and greens, with some purple thrown in for good measure.

STRMllEnds-02

On Saturday I spent an incredible amount of time dithering at the Tactile Fiber Arts booth. All of their yarns are dyed with natural materials, and the colors are just amazing. I settled on a skein of their merino laceweight called Pomegranate, which is quite a departure for me, as I’ve never worn much red.

TactileLace-02

On Sunday, I took my mother to the show with me. I told her the same thing I did last year, “Pick a sock yarn, I’ll knit you the socks.” Then it was her turn for dithering, and she finally decided on a merino/bamboo blend from Wolf Creek Wools.

WolfCreekOlive-02

Oh look, more lace yarn! (’cause I might not have enough…)

BlackAlpacaLace-02

This is a 2-ply alpaca from Rolly Thompson of Fox Hollow Farm & Fiber. It’s so black you can see blue highlights in it, and it has the most incredible shine to it.

Next was a skein of Cashmara sock yarn, a blend of superwash wool and cashmere. This is even now on its way to a friend as part of a swap package, and I hope she likes it!

Cashmara-02

Finally, the last purchase, the one I agonized over the most and the one I’m most excited about.

TootsLace-01

Four skeins of 60/40 Merino/Angora laceweight from Toots Le Blanc & Co. No dye in this, just blended colors from different animals to get this beautiful grey color. I was fingering a skein of it when the vendor pointed me to a beautiful scarf knitted out of the same yarn. It halos in the most amazing way, and the piece was light as… as… it’s amazing stuff.

TootsLace-02

This is destined to become an Orenburg shawl of one type or another, as I think the garter-stitch the style is based on would suit this yarn right down to the ground.

All this, and I stayed within my budget! Granted, I’d been squirreling money away for a year, but still…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to They Followed Me Home

  1. Wendie says:

    oooooh, such lovelies!psst: you want to knit that pomegranate lace weight into something nice for your good friend Ven.

  2. m1k1 says:

    What a fabulous array you have found following you home.

  3. Kate says:

    GORGEOUS–each and every skein!! Thanks for letting us live vicariously through you. 🙂

  4. Every skein is more beautiful than the next. I can't wait to see what you create with all the lace.

  5. :kerplunk: (falling on the floor with a thud at the awesomeness of these beautiful fibers :kerplunk again:

  6. What a bunch of lovies to follow you home. I hope you're spending a lot of time fondling them. 🙂

  7. essjay says:

    You did a great job picking everything out – SO lovely! I'm also glad you stayed in budget – makes those yarns even sweeter!)

  8. Rose Red says:

    Oh gorgeous stuff – excellent choices! Love the pomegranate especially and the Toots. I don't think I could have left that behind either!

  9. Bells says:

    I think you chose some stunning stuff. Just amazingly beautiful.

  10. Joanne says:

    Well, with these two different BSG posts, I almost feel like I was there. Almost, but not quite…and I wish I'd been there with you! Thank you for all the lovely thoughts in my direction via my blog. On the box count? I think we're up to 288 now. It's amazing how much stuff we have. Hard to believe, I feel like I've already given most of it away!

  11. Alwen says:

    The amazing thing about the Orenburg shawls is the yarn is so fine they don't even look like garter stitch.

  12. Bridget says:

    Niiiice! (P.S. Are you still singing the song in your head???)

  13. Chandler says:

    Mmmm…tasty eye candy! The Heirloom book is on my list, too! Enjoy your spoils!

  14. Donna Lee says:

    Nice haul. There's something about alpaca. It's so light and yet so warm. That will make a lovely lovely piece of lace.

Leave a Reply

