Some Colors Are Easy

I’ve been hunting around to see if I can find a suitable backdrop to use for photos of the lovely purple shawl taking shape on a pair of US 3’s, but it’s proving to be elusive.

In the meantime, I’ve found that there’s something on another set of needles which is actually pretty easy to shoot.

Ridgeline Sock

This is the first sock of a pair of Ridgeline Socks from Cat Bordhi’s New Pathways for Sock Knitters, and that’s my husband’s foot wearing it. This makes sense, because the socks are for him.

I know I’m not the only person who finds it difficult to knit for their beloved. He doesn’t wear sweaters very often, which is good for me considering the battles I’ve had knitting sweaters which actually fit the person they’re intended for. He’s also not terribly interested in intricate hats, which means I’ve made him precisely two… only one of which gets worn with any regularity. What’s a knitter to do?

Well golly, it seems like I’ve always got at least one pair of socks on the needles… how about some of those? Loud colors are out. No lace either.  Certainly no bobbles (thank goodness, I really don’t like bobbles). He’d probably go for absolutely plain socks, but the mere thought of them makes me bored before I even start. Stockinette stitch, plain and simple from toes to cuff, around and around and around… snore.

These socks have the best of both worlds in them. A nice neutral color and not too much in the way of adornment for him, with enough interest for me in the cable pattern and Cat’s ever-intriguing architecture.

All that, and easy to photograph for showing off!

Ridgeline Sock

This entry was posted in Socks. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Some Colors Are Easy

  1. drkknits says:

    they are really terrific. i seem to be stuck on brown and neat patterns for man-socks too, but you just cant go wrong that way. his foot looks a little blue though, like maybe he needs them quick!

  2. Chandler says:

    They’re lovely…I mean, manly. Very masculine. I hear you about the troubles with knitting for men. The Tailor doesn’t mind wearing bright colors (bless him), but he just never wears sweaters. Ever. And he’s very particular about socks (not that I’ve ever knitted a sock). So it’s hats, scarves and mittens for me, and that’s that.

  3. Sara says:

    Significant others are hard to knit for! I’m glad you found a yarn & pattern that will satisfy you both!

Leave a Reply

