Still Kicking

Wow, four weeks? That’s a bit much, I must admit. Things got away from me, although I’m happy to report that my garden is still in good shape. Funny thing, it turns out if I give 30-45 minutes over to weeding a couple of times a week, it actually gets easier. Shocking, I know!

The baby boom around me continues apace, and so of course does the knitting for the future humans. Check out this little number:

Modified Drops Eyelet Cardigan

Jennifer Little took one of the DROPS designs (this one, to be exact) and modified the heck out of it. I liked hers better, so that was the one I made.

It’s a pretty simple knit, with enough lace in it to keep me awake and make the finished sweater something very special indeed. I used the calculator located here to help me keep the increases even. Have you tried it? Oh, you simply must! It’s an absolute life-saver.

I toyed very briefly with a further modification to the pattern, involving knitting the sleeves in the round instead of flat with seams. But I think I had a head cold that week, and the idea of figuring out how many extra stitches to cast on to the body and how to keep the lace correct made me all chin-quivery. Besides, 5-6 inches of mattress stitch never killed anybody.

Modified Drops Eyelet Cardigan

I’m very pleased with the result and I’m anxious to get it to the little miss it was made for.

Project Details:
Pattern: Modified Drops Eyelet Cardigan by Jennifer Little
Yarn: Pagewood Farm Denali in Really Red
Needles: US 2 (2.75 mm)
Dates: Ah… hmm… I honestly don’t know
Buttons: Lovely wee flowers, provided and sewn by my wonderful mother

Modified Drops Eyelet Cardigan

Next Time: I visit Oregon Flock and Fiber, meet an internet friend face to face, and hum along with the llamas.

This entry was posted in Baby Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Still Kicking

  1. Rose Red says:

    oooh, thanks for the link to the calculator page – very handy!

    cute cardi – and excellent colour!

  2. aliasAnnaJM says:

    I love your modelling bear! And what a gorgeous cardi he’s wearing today! 🙂

  3. LauraRose says:

    Your blog sounds just like you. I am adding you to my list immediately! My Paddington is very jealous that he still only has his blue duffle coat.

  4. Chandler says:

    Oh, so precious! I love the eyelets—just charming!

  5. drkknits says:

    oh thats so cute. and it really suits the teddy bear too!

Leave a Reply

