Meet The Critters

I made my very first trip up to Oregon Flock and Fiber at the end of September, and oh, what a wonderful day I had.

It’s about a two-hour drive from my house to Canby, and I had the very excellent company of Tim Curry reading The Bad Beginning, the first Lemony Snicket book. A more perfect pairing of voice and story you are not likely to find, and I spent most of the drive alternating between chortling with laughter at the funny bits and gasping with horror as things went from bad to worse for those poor children.

The biggest reason for making the journey north was to finally meet someone in person who I’d been corresponding on-line with for… two years? Something like that. Chandler of Anagram Press does the most interesting things with letterpress I’ve ever seen, including the occasional use of a steamroller. She lives in Tacoma WA, about 2-3 hours north of Canby, so it was a perfect chance to split the traveling distance and meet each other face to face for the very first time.

It was marvelous. She’s even more fun in person than she is on the internet, and we had such a great time together. We looked at all the booths and tents, touched all kinds of fiber, yarn and woven goods, laughed until my sides hurt and showed absolutely no restraint whatsoever when it came to forking over money for pretty things.

Just doing our part to support the fiber economy, you understand.

There’s just one thing I forgot to do… Can you believe I didn’t take a singe picture of her? I know, I know, I’m a sadly neglectful blogger. Trust me, she’s lovely, just full of life and energy, with a weakness for alpaca yarn.

We did get lots of pictures of the critters, though. Let’s meet ’em!

These two just about melted me.

Mother and Child

I love horned sheep, I really do.

Horns

And sheep with bangs.

Bangs

My favorites were the llamas. They made us think of muppets, with those sinuous necks and expressive ears. And the humming, oh it just makes me smile.

Nose

This one is showing off his (her?) heritage.

Heritage

Look, a spotted one!

Spotted

This one almost, almost, let me touch him.

Shy

It was a lovely day, simply wonderful. I saw so many beautiful things, so many smiling faces. I met up with some folks I hadn’t seen in far too long. I finally got to meet Chandler face to face.

Really, I can’t imagine how it could have been any better.

This entry was posted in Fiber Festivals, Oregon Flock and Fiber. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meet The Critters

  1. Chandler says:

    Aw, thank you! I had such a great time with you—here’s to many more meetups, and future festivals together. And maybe we can convince Tim Curry to come in person to the next one…

  2. donna lee says:

    I love the way llamas pose. I’ve never seen animals who liked the camera as much as llamas!

  3. drkknits says:

    oooh packyy and llamas and sheep, how much fun is that! its so great to see the fibre in its original state!

  4. Sara says:

    What a great group of photos! I love llamas too!

Leave a Reply

