Any Questions?

Here I am again on 20 October, celebrating another birthday. All these trips around the sun, they add up rather quickly, and this year makes 42 of them.

Have you read The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy? If you haven’t, you really should. It’s hilarious, touching, absurd and infinitely quotable. Altogether a joy to read.

The number 42 plays a rather significant role in that book, and in some of the subsequent ones in the series as well. It’s the Ultimate Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, The Universe, and Everything… but nobody knows what the question is.

Isn’t that just the way it goes? You think you’ve got it all figured out and somebody pulls the rug out from under you. I mean really, what kind of an answer is that? At any rate, this year I’m one of the answers.

Must be careful not to let it go to my head.

To all of my family, friends, co-workers and blog readers; to the friendly random people who smile at me through the course of a day; to the children who see me knitting and stare with huge eyes; to the man in the parking lot the other day who let me have that parking space; to all of you, everywhere, whoever you are:

Thank you, from the very bottom of my heart, for helping me get this far. I never could have done it without you.

This entry was posted in Birthday. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Any Questions?

  1. Raeknitswa says:

    Happy Birthday GK, I hope you have a day full of fun & excitement make sure you take time to do something for yourself after all it is your day.

  2. KT says:

    Happy Birthday! I’m so glad to know you via the Monday nite knitting group. May this trip around the sun be your best one yet!

  3. Karen says:

    Happy birthday! 42 is a great age–I hope this year is full of excellence. And remember the famous mottoes: “DON’T PANIC” and “Always carry a towel.” They will take you far.

  4. drkknits says:

    happy happy birthday! in 7 days from the 20th i will be 42 as well! what an amazing number, and what a great vintage!

  5. LauraRose says:

    Happy, happy! Perhaps a handknit towel?

  6. donna lee says:

    Happiest of happy birthdays! I remember being 42. Unfortunately, it did not come with all the answers. (neither did 43 or 44 or even 52.)

  7. Bells says:

    happy birthday! I’m married to an avid Douglas Adams fan who is turning 42 in a few weeks. I’m buying him audiobooks of various DA books. It seems fitting!

  8. Rose Red says:

    Happy Birthday! My husband is also The Answer this year – it seems to be going around! Hope you had a lovely day and were very spoilt!

  9. Debby says:

    A belated happy birthday to you! I have not read Hitchhiker’s Galaxy, but your post makes me want to read it.

  10. AlisonH says:

    I loved being 42. It was like this inner joke going on all the time that I could chuckle over any time I needed it. Happy Hitchhiking!

  11. Chandler says:

    I can’t believe I’ve been away from your blog for so long! (Question: how many streets must a woman walk down?) Happy belated birthday, and don’t forget your towel!

  12. Shannon B says:

    Happy (very belated) birthday! (I haven’t been reading blogs regularly for a while now.)

  13. Shannon B says:

    I tried to send you an email, but couldn’t find your address! I wanted to thank you for your comment on Half Soled Boots. It’s so comforting to think there are people out there who hear what I’m saying, and understand it. It can be hard so write such a personal post – I never know if it will resonate, or even if anyone wants to hear it. So thank you.
    XO

Leave a Reply

