Unintended Consequences

Well, if it’s going to snow in my blog, the least I can do is post in it!

This year, for the first time in I-Don’t-Know-How-Long, I decided to do a little holiday decorating. There are a lot of pretty boring reasons for why it’s been so long, and this year just seemed like a good time to do something different.

So, I asked one of the vendors at our Farmer’s Market to put together a great big wreath for me, with nothing but greenery on it. No bows, no pine cones, just green. I bought myself a string of lights (which should tell you how long it’s been since I did this), and waited for the wreath to be ready.

The day I brought it home, I rearranged my living room a bit, hung the wreath up, put the lights on it, and went to get my box of ornaments. The box from the closet in the spare room. The closet where all kinds of things are tossed in kind of higgledy-piggledy…

Wanna know what I found before I got to the ornaments? About three layers down, stuffed into a bag?

That’s a skein of Plymouth Happy Feet, which I have been kinda-sorta looking for since March. I can finally finish that pair of Baudelaire socks!

And the wreath? Oh, it’s lovely, I couldn’t be more pleased with it!

This entry was posted in Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Unintended Consequences

  1. TheBon says:

    It looks awesome!!

  2. Jen says:

    Oh! The wreath is beautiful!

    And yay bonus yarn. LOL.

  3. Karen says:

    Beauty, eh?

    And so good to see you back!

  4. Chandler says:

    Such a pretty wreath! We’re not decorating until this weekend, and I’m getting a seriously itchy trigger finger.

    Also, I am forever finding lost objects that way. Toner cartridge in the laundry basket. Unanswered letter in the tea cupboard. Paintbrush in the sock drawer. Passport in with the stack of DVDs. You get the idea. In some ways it’s like a little random present to myself when I stumble upon these things, but mostly it’s just further evidence that I am a lost cause.

  5. Bells says:

    what a wonderful idea to have wreath made! That’s a very beautiful way to dip your feet into the decorating water, so to speak. Having one made is just perfect.

    Lights! i’ve never owned Christmas lights. Perhaps I should buy a little string of them too.

    Don’t you just love finding lost skeins of yarn. I’ve done that too! And welcome back. Please blog more!

  6. Kathy says:

    Oohhh! So lovely! The wreath is just a fabulous idea. Very green, in many ways. And an early Christmas gift for you. Do you think, if I randomly decorate something, I’ll find the lace weight Malabrigo that’s been MIA for over a year? Happy Holidays!

  7. Rose Red says:

    The wreath is just lovely. I’m not quite into the christmas spirit yet – perhaps I need to put up a few decorations, I’m sure that will help.

    And yay for sock yarn! Don’t suppose you can find my passport while you are at it??!!

  8. donna lee says:

    It’s a beautiful wreath. Just perfect.

    And the yarn color is gorgeous. What a lovely red.

  9. Sara says:

    That wreath is so lovely and such a perfect idea! When we have a “real” house I am totally stealing the idea!

    I am glad you found the yarn – total bonus!

  10. dotmom61 says:

    I’m a little late, but your wreath is lovely! How are the socks coming along? 😉

Leave a Reply

