Many Thanks

I am utterly and completely blown away by all of the supportive comments, virtual hugs and offers of support my desperate post last week brought out. It was a difficult and scary post to write, far outside of my comfort zone. I let it sit as a draft for several hours, nearly deleted it half a dozen times, and then finally published it.

And then there you all were, with great kindness and compassion, reminding me that I’m not alone, that I’m not the first person to ever feel this way. From the bottom of my heart, I thank you.

My retreat last weekend was simply wondrous. Three straight days without a headache. Hours upon hours of knitting, spinning, laughing, eating and drinking. I took a walk on Friday afternoon and saw a bobcat. It was exactly what I needed…

I even came home with a wonderful new relaxation device. My friend Janel decided that she’s got too many spinning wheels, and has graciously loaned me her Ashford Joy to learn on and possibly (probably) purchase. Pictures of that (and my first laughable spindle of disastrous singles) very soon.

Also coming soon, a sample project for a friend who dyes some rather-quite-lovely yarn, knit up in one of the most challenging and addictive sock patterns I’ve ever worked on.

In the meantime, I’m working hard at holding on to that calm center of myself I rediscovered at retreat. One thing at a time, right?

This entry was posted in Spinning, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Many Thanks

  1. KSD says:

    That’s all you can do — one at a time.

    Glad you’re feeling supported and strengthened.

  2. AlisonH says:

    I’m so sorry I didn’t see the earlier post in time to speak up then, too, and I’m grateful to all those who did. Take good care of yourself! And it sounds like your friends helped take good care of you.

  3. kt says:

    We missed you last night at MoC… looking forward to seeing the results of your wheel spinning. Enjoy.

  4. RoseRed says:

    So glad you had a good weekend and came away with a sense of calm, and a spinning wheel!! Nothing like a new skill to learn to help take your mind away from other things. I’m not a spinner, but those who do tell me it helps to centre you and put you in the zone like nothing else. I hope it has that lovely effect for you (not to mention enable you to create fabulous yarns of your own!)

  5. donna lee says:

    Learning to spin is humbling, that’s for sure! It can be an island of calm and peace on a rough day.

    I’m so glad you had a restorative weekend. Now the challenge is to hold onto that tiny piece of yourself that you rediscovered.

  6. iKate says:

    Glad you’re feeling better, Anree. Enjoy your new toy! πŸ™‚

  7. shellauw says:

    One thing at a time. Breathe, and yell if you need to. But just remember, there are many of us out here who are happy to help, just say the word. πŸ™‚

    And enjoy the spinning.

  8. LauraRose says:

    You’ve gotten me thinking about how spinning a thread is a lot like life. Sometimes it gets a little thin and you have to put in more twist just to hold it together; sometimes it gets too tightly twisted and you just have to push it through the orifice and get on to the next section; sometime it breaks altogether and you have to pick up you fiber and re-attach it as best you can and keep going. It’s the round and round and round and keeping going that’s important. Of course, having a “new shiny toy,” can help as well! It sounds like you have lots of good close friends to talk with, but I always love talking to you, and am here for you, too!

  9. Debby says:

    I hope that you are able to hold on to the peace and health you found on your retreat, and that learning to spin is just the beginning of the positive changes that you want for your life.

    I can very much relate. I’ve been out of work over two years, and have no idea what to do: continue looking for a job in corporate publishing, continue to try to start my own freelance editing business, or give it all up and go work as a waitress or sales clerk! It’s hard to feel at sea for so long. But I second and third everyone’s suggestions to reach out to your friends as much as you need to. It’s called “social medicine” and it really does help change perspective. *hugs*

  10. Chandler says:

    It’s amazing how healing one’s own hands can be. I’ve been thinking about you lately, even though I’ve been missing from your space here. Wishing you peace of mind and the joy of finding your center and your path. Virtual hugs for now, and hoping to give you a real one before too long!

  11. AlisonH says:

    I came across an old email from you and stopped by to see how you were doing. Wishing you all the best.

Leave a comment